Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Why do I title this entry with the lyrics to “Stand” by Hillsong?  It is because today has truly been a gift.  I’m in awe of the work that God is doing in my life and through me with these children.  I am so thankful for this opportunity and I know whole-heartedly that this was God’s plan for me.  I am supposed to be working with these children and loving them unconditionally.  My heart aches for them, but their spirits remind me that I’m saved and God is on a mission.  They are all so positive.

Today, Fitz and I went to LSVI and upon arriving found out that the class we were supposed to read to was gone on a field trip.  They asked around and found out that we could go to Ms. Lamont’s class to read.  It was children from Alternate Track 9-12.  These children are beautiful beyond words.  The first to introduce himself was Michael Sam.  He had my heart immediately.  I will pray for this beautiful boy to continue to have such an amazing spirit.  He is the epitome of someone overflowing with joy.  He immediately said, “Miss. Brandi, my name is Michael Sam.  It is nice to meet you.”  Then, he proceeded to introduce Fitz and I to Elizabeth.  Elizabeth was one of two children who are mute in this classroom.  How beautiful is that?  He understands his friends and accepts them for who they are.  He is there for them when they need something.  That is true friendship.  There was one other little girl who took part in storytime.  Her name was Samantha.  She took a quick liking to Fitz and throughout our time there kept inching closer to sit next to Fitz.  It was precious.  She would giggle with Fitz and laugh.  So cute.  We read a couple books and they paid such good attention so they let us stay a little overtime.  Michael Sam asked if we could now read his favorite book.  Of course, I said yes.  Little did I know that he meant that he was going to recite his favorite book for me.  The teacher provided Fitz and I with the book, but it was unnecessary.  The book was called Miss. Nelson is Missing.  He has EVERY word memorized.  He included different voices for the different characters and sound effects for actions in the story.  It was amazing.  I was in awe.  He was soooo happy.  God loves this little boy so much and you can tell he understands God’s love.  Then, we came to find out he loves Michael Jackson.  He knew EVERY song word for word and sang for us.  He even mimics his voice singing.  So beautiful.  I love this little boy so much!  Samantha meanwhile was asking Fitz questions, chiming in on the story Michael was telling and giggling.  So sweet.  That giggle hasn’t left my head all day.  It makes me smile just thinking about it.  Elizabeth didn’t speak during our time there, but she would randomly burst out into song.  The teachers kept telling her not to sing because it wasn’t the right time.  I thought it was amazing though.

After dancing for the first time in a long time the other day and seeing these children, God has taught me a valuable lesson…  God gives different people different talents. Wherever He has you, He has you there for a purpose.  This is so true.  Take the talent God has given you and use it to the best of your ability.  Exert it all and use it for God’s glory. “Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.” James 1:17

Then the LORD said to him, “Who has made man’s mouth? Who makes him mute, or deaf, or seeing, or blind? Is it not I, the LORD?” Exodus 4:11  This verse beautifully sums up that God made us each very special.  He loves each of us with all his heart.  These children I can honestly say would be beautiful to me even if I couldn’t see them or hear them.  I would still love them unconditionally because of who they are as people.

Fitz and I left this class today scheming plans to get back in that classroom with those specific kids.  I pray God provides a way for us to work with these kids again because they truly loved it and asked for us to return weekly.  That was so encouraging.  Keep these children in your prayers and pray that others will sign up to volunteer in the empty spots.

